Nasty Women Rise

On January 21st 2017, history was made. The women’s march was the biggest protest in the history of America. I was lucky enough to attend this march following the inauguration. After watching the inauguration I legitimately fell into a slight depression. I had started to lose faith in humanity. Then 24 hours later my faith in humanity had been completely restored and more.

The streets of Washington D.C. were jam packed with women, men and children of all ages and races. People were wrapped up in rainbow flags, wearing pink hats and carrying some of the most creative protest signs I have ever seen. It was so crowded that people were climbing trees, stop lights and any type of sturdy object that they could climb on to get a better view. The vibe of the women’s march was night and day difference from the vibe of Trumps inauguration. At the inauguration, there was so much tension and everyone felt on edge, even the Trump supporters. It was almost like people were expecting protestors to attack and they were more than ready to fight back. At the women’s march, everyone was laughing and smiling and chanting and taking pictures together and showing off their creative outfits and protest signs. Regardless of the crowd being overwhelming, I have never been more okay with being squished and shoved with these people, because these are my kind of people. I remember at one point in the march, I got separated from members in my group. I had assumed they were following closely behind me in the sea of people, but I was wrong. It was then I heard a random man’s voice scream, “Kristen!” making me turn around to see my group members face show relief next to the guy who yelled my name. Turns out my group member was yelling my name but his voice wasn’t carrying far enough so a guy next to him yelled to help my group member out to get my attention.

This march was so incredibly revitalizing to my faith in humanity with how much hope all these people still had in our country. Not only were people marching in Washington D.C., or nation wide, but people were marching all over the world.
“It is not our differences that divide us. It is our inability to recognize, accept, and celebrate those differences.”

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

