Trip Recap

In the months before I left Spokane I was exceptionally nervous and wary about this trip. I really only knew two people going, and really had no idea what to expect. I am not a communications or journalism major, which is what this trip was designed for. Little did I know that I would end up having the time of life, learn a ton, and build some amazing friendships.

I learned more about the media, and media organizations than I ever thought I would. I was able to broaden more horizons forms of media, and realized that it is not just about what is on the news, there are multiple layers. The research work that goes into every piece that is published is unreal, and the countless hours that people have to work to make sure all the facts they put out are correct is unbelievable. I also learned that I could submit stories or pictures into local news sources if I had something interesting to publish. I was able to get my after Inauguration protest piece published by the Spokesman, and all it took was about 15 minutes of writing, and an email to the paper. I saw firsthand numerous organizations’ headquarters, and we got tours of places most journalists would dream about. Personally, my favorites that we visited were The New York Times, Bloomberg, and PBS.

While I am sad to see it end, this trip is something that I am never going to forget. The people, the places, and the experiences made it all worth it.

  1. #1 by hannahbrekke on January 22, 2017 - 9:41 pm

    This is such a wonderful description of the trip! I was feeling the exact same way prior to leaving. I was very anxious and had no idea of what to expect. However, this has been one of the greatest experiences of my life! I am so glad that I went and learned so much about the media world from incredible professionals in the field, made so many great friends, and have been a part of huge history in the making!

  2. #2 by clairesymons on January 23, 2017 - 4:06 am

    I felt the same way going into the trip, Casey! I didn’t know anyone, and I was anxious about how the trip would play out. Little did I know that this trip would be such an incredible experience– both in terms of education and creating friendships. It was awesome to learn from the people who met with us at media organizations, too. It opened my eyes to the plethora of opportunities in the journalism field.

  3. #3 by krisgrattan on January 23, 2017 - 10:06 pm

    It sounds like we all had similar feelings going into this trip! I am so glad you decided to go, even though you are a history major. It truly was such an eye opening experience learning more about the media and media organizations. I wouldn’t have wanted to experience history and learn more about the media with any other group!

Leave a Reply

