Inauguration Day

I would love to write in a much more professional fashion of my experience at the Inauguration, but I am so distraught with what I have witnessed that I can only write down my hourly schedule.

Started at 4:30 a.m. – I woke up, put on my Obama t-shirt and tennis shoes and got my bag ready for the day.

6:00 a.m. – I departed International Hostel and headed towards the mall.

7:00 a.m. – I waited in line for security surrounded by Trump supporters shouting, “Build a wall!” and “U.S.A.!”

8:00 a.m. – I was still waiting in line for security at this point.

9:00 a.m. – I finally made it past security and headed towards the mall. I saw many people protesting and arguing back and forth. A woman looked at my Obama shirt and said, “Are you insane.”

10:00 a.m. – I was on the mall surrounded by people wearing “Make America Great Again” hats, and my five other class mates. We stuck out like sore thumbs in a crowd of these supporters with our Obama shirts and “Love Trumps Hate” pins on our jackets.

11:00 a.m. – I was watching the big screen and saw Trump and Obama departing the White House together. Following the footage of the President of the United States and the President-Elect of the United States was footage of Hilary Clinton. Following the footage of Hilary Clinton was a sudden up roar of “Boo’s,” from the Trump supporters.

12:00 p.m. – Donald Trump is officially sworn into democracy and a long four years begins.

1:00 p.m. – My group and I stood in line to go through security to get out of the mall. (Yes for an hour.)

2:00 p.m. – My group and I are frantically trying to find ways to get back to our hostel, but police and security have us trapped in the mall.

3:00 p.m. – Still trapped in the mall.

4:00 p.m. – Still trapped in the mall.

5:00 p.m. – Finally we were let out of the mall because the parade was delayed. My group and I took off in a sprint down a closed off street to find food and water and a bathroom.

5:30 p.m. – We arrive at the hostel with tired feet and weary souls.

  1. #1 by James McPherson on January 22, 2017 - 1:23 am

    I’m very proud of you all.

  2. #2 by Hannah Brekke on January 22, 2017 - 7:46 pm

    I like how you chose to write this out like a timeline. It definitely caught my attention and gave a really relatable experience to the long and incrediable day of being at the event!

  3. #3 by clairesymons on January 23, 2017 - 4:08 am

    I think this blog post really captures our experience at the inauguration. It was such a busy day that it was hard to process it in the moment. We witnessed history, even if it wasn’t the kind of history we were hoping for. This post really captures the big moments we experienced, and the emotions as well.

  4. #4 by peterwritessite on January 24, 2017 - 12:10 am

    I really love this post. I like the timeline style of writing. It gives it a sense of how long the inauguration took. We only heard a 5-10 minute speech but getting to and leaving the ceremony took absolutely all day. You are an excellent writer Kristen!

Leave a Reply

