Martin Luther King Jr. Day Parade, Washington D.C.

486481484482478479477480483485475476

  1. #1 by toddino17 on January 19, 2017 - 1:15 am

    These photos are just stunning! You are so talented. It’s fun to compare my expectations of what I thought this parade would be like and what it was actually like. Most of the parades I have been to have been in Spokane (such as the Lilac Parade). Going into the MLK Day Parade I was expecting something like the Lilac Parade from back home – lots of people, street vendors, food carts, kids running everywhere, music playing, etc. This parade was much different though. There was still joy, but it was a different type of joy than I was expecting. I was also surprised by the wide variety of parade participants: hospitals, high school marching bands, political figures, activist groups, local radio stations, churches and more. That really surprised me – how local pastors seemed to be well known local figures.

  2. #2 by toddino17 on January 19, 2017 - 1:17 am

    These photos are just stunning! You are so talented. It’s fun to compare my expectations of what I thought this parade would be like and what it was actually like. Most of the parades I have been to have been in Spokane (such as the Lilac Parade). Going into the MLK Day Parade I was expecting something like the Lilac Parade from back home – lots of people, street vendors, food carts, kids running everywhere, music playing, etc. This parade was much different though. There was still joy, but it was a different type of joy than I was expecting. I was also surprised by the wide variety of parade participants: hospitals, high school marching bands,

  3. #3 by pschoening18 on January 23, 2017 - 8:29 pm

    Hannah, these are wonderful photos that accurately encapsulate the emotion and experience we witnessed at the Martin Luther King Jr. Day Parade! There was so much pride radiating not only through the participants, but the viewers as well. I can certainly attest to this. These photos illustrate that the world revers MLK very highly. While I believe everyone was excited about the parade, many of the faces in these pictures are solemn. I wonder if the impending Trump inauguration left a significant effect on this specific community who was celebrating MLK’s legacy. I think there would have been more joy in the parade if our country was inaugurating a president who would fight for the rights of ALL Americans, as MLK himself would have supported.

Leave a Reply

