New York, I Love You, But You’re Bringing Me Down…

Today was our first full day in Washington D.C., and what a wonderfully beautiful city it is!
We saw a fair many historical sights, such as the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial and both the Vietnam War and Korean War memorials.
Aside from seeing all of the history around us, I was very encouraged today because I feel like I can thrive in this city, more so than New York City.

Before I came on this trip, I would’ve have said that I would love to live in NYC, attend graduate school, and start my career in media there. Having never been there before, I romanticized the city. I now realize that I may have jumped ahead of myself a bit.

It is very hard city for me to get around in and some of the media meetings we attended were discouraging because all of the professionals said there is an obvious lack of diversity in media today and it is difficult to break into because of that fact.
So New York, I love you, but you’re bringing me down.
Although we haven’t started attending any meetings yet because we’ve just arrived, I cannot help but feel a positive and encouraging vibe in this city. I am excited for our visits to NPR and the Pew Research Center probably the most, so my anticipation is building for those visits.
To be here in D.C. for Martin Luther King Jr. Day as well is also a rare privilege. I can feel the enthusiasm in the air as we approach the day that celebrates such a courageous and amazing man who did so much for our country, by starting the process of breaking down racial and social barriers. As a country, we have progressed so far because of the Civil Rights Movement, but still have a long way to go toward racial equality. I could go on and on about MLK Jr. because I admire him so much. Needless to say, I am more than enthusiastic for tomorrow. We plan to go to both the parade and memorial tomorrow to commemorate him. I will probably cry.
Lastly, of course, what a time to be here in the capital city. This is inauguration week. Regardless of my political leanings or feelings, this is simply history and I am blessed to witness it. All of us are.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

