Ads, ads and more ads

morton

A snapshot of the Morton Salt ad at an NYC bus stop

So. Many. Ads.

 

On the subway, on the platform, on the street, in building windows, on the screens in building windows, on the phone in your hand – literally everywhere in this city.

New York City is saturated with advertisement media in every direction. For an advertising enthusiast such as myself, NYC is just too much fun. I’ve had fun looking at ads and imagining the creative process, from concept conceptualization to the printing press.

I’ve also had a good time looking at ads and pondering the justification for the ad. Why did they take that angle? Who is their target demographic? Is this ad effective?

 I’ve been snapping pics of various ads that have intrigued me in some way. One ad that I wish I captured a photo of was an ad I saw on a subway mezzanine. It was an ad for truTV that said something along the lines of “This is an ad for a TV show.” I thought that was so peculiar – what was their goal in having that statement on the ad? The ad broke the fourth wall and I was unsure of the point in doing so.

Another ad that I didn’t have the chance to capture was in a subway car. The ad was for a poetry society if I recall correctly. The ad asked readers to consider the point/benefit of poetry – what purpose does poetry serve? Then, the ad included some brief, poetic copy that removed all “ou” letter pairings. For example, should was written as “shld,” could was written as “cld” and your was written as “yr.”

I loved this ad. I think the ad was trying to convey the message that poetry should make you think. I was captivated by the ad and of course found myself asking why they removed the “ou” letter pairings. The ad succeeded in grabbing my attention and making me think. However, the fact that I don’t remember what company or organization the ad was for makes this ad unsuccessful.

The above photo is another ad I appreciated. Morton Salt created a great ad that covers the side of a bus stop waiting area. When you have an iconic brand, which Morton does, I think it’s brilliant to invite consumers to be a part of your brand.

The above ad invites consumers to engage in the Morton brand by asking consumers to take a photo as the iconic Morton Salt Girl. I appreciate this approach because it combines social media and brand engagement. The campaign includes a microsite and a hashtag, #WalkHerWalk.

Further, the campaign’s microsite shares the stories of inspiring people who are making a difference – Morton is trying to do something meaningful and impactful with this campaign.

However, one criticism I have is that this campaign is a little all over the place. Combining the hashtag, the brand engagement, the social impact element and all the other elements makes this campaign a little overwhelming. I think it’s crucial to keep things simple for consumers. You can still have a call to action and make a difference, but the call to action needs to be presented clearly and concisely.

We live in a world saturated by ads, and I encourage you to enjoy the ads around you and ask questions. So – what’s an ad you’ve seen lately that you’ve appreciated?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

