(Positive) Peer Pressure

Before I left for this trip to New York and Washington DC, I told my friends about some of the locations we would be visiting. When I told my friend about the New York Times, she told me that I should leave a copy of my resume and best story on someone’s desk.

I thought it was a good idea, but a bold one. Anyone that knows me knows that I am not bold or brash. However, my friend made me promise to be bold and leave my resume.

I was incredibly nervous to do so but I told others on the trip to make sure I follow through with it.

After we finished our meeting with the head of graphics at the NYT, we started walking out. I had my papers in hand and I realized that this was my last chance. I spotted a desk that looked used by an employee but had its employee  absent.  As casually as possible, I placed my resume and story on the desk as mind kept walking.

I’m glad I took the risk. It reminded me that journalists have to take risks for their career. I felt that the peer pressure I faced was positive and emboldened me to be more forward and confident in my skills. Because of this experience, I may be more confident in handing out my resume and other stories.

  1. #1 by krisgrattan on January 12, 2017 - 11:47 pm

    I am so excited you did this Peter! Way to be bold and follow through with getting your name out there! Although, I wouldn’t have let you leave New York Times if you didn’t do it.

  2. #2 by toddino17 on January 15, 2017 - 2:15 am

    Peter – I am so proud of you for being bold! I think it’s important for everyone to be bold and go confidently in the direction of their dreams. But I think it is specifically crucial for journalists to do so. We are in a tough business – newsrooms are shrinking, jobs are sometimes hard to come by, so many journalism jobs are starting to require coding skills, the media is under strict public scrutiny, tensions are high for members of the political media, etc. It’s an exciting, fascinating time to be a journalist, but also a daunting one. I’m proud of you for being bold and leaving your resume and best story. Good for you! I have no doubt you’ll do great things.

Leave a Reply

