Motivated and thankful

Throughout the course of this trip I have learned many things, both about myself and about the professional world. I came into the trip not with a strong idea of what I wanted to do, but a somewhat-planned out desire to do non-profit work after graduation. After experiencing all of the meetings we were able to be a part of, however, my eyes have been opened to the vast possibilities of different careers and positions that I never even knew existed including assignment coordinators working at Getty Images, or the communications director for a tourism company. After this trip, I am confused about what I would like to do as a career…but I am also more excited and motivated to figure it out than I’ve ever been. Even though I don’t have a specific career path that I am ready to dive into and devote everything to, I now have the passion and desire to work hard and find internships that will expose me to various parts of the professional world. I will be doing an internship in the spring, and I am very exicited to put my all into it and utilize some of the advice that we learned in some of our meetings. For example, I am going to work as hard as I can to present myself as eager and professional and I will always do my best work. After this trip, I am comforted by the stories and career paths that many of the professionals we met with have taken. Many of them started out by doing entry-level positions or internships until they found what they were truly passionate about, and I am more excited than ever to start my own professional journey. I am very thankful to have had the opportunity to go on this trip, and I will take what I have learned with me into my last semester of college and beyond.

  1. #1 by Laura on January 26, 2015 - 4:51 pm

    Great thoughts Ali! I feel exactly the same way about being more confused than ever about what I want to do as a career. But I also agree that it’s more exciting than scary. After hearing all these stories from professionals about the paths they took and how it wasn’t always a smooth transition from school to one career is really reassuring to hear.

  2. #2 by enikssarian15 on January 27, 2015 - 5:55 pm

    Ali, as a fellow senior, I can totally relate to this post. This trip definitely made it a bit more difficult to be specific and intentional about what I want to pursue as a career but also made me realize that my skills and experiences can apply to a multitude of jobs and opportunities I didn’t know applied to me.

Leave a Reply

