Preservation of History

This morning we didn’t have any meetings so Ali, Claire, Samantha and I went to Ford’s Theater where Lincoln was assassinated. We weren’t really sure how it was going to work but we figured it was something worth seeing and timed it perfectly to get into the museum with the 10 am group.

I had the privilege of seeing the theater when I was in DC about three years ago but I didn’t go to the museum at the time so I felt really lucky to be able to see it this time. Walking through the museum was incredible. It wasn’t a huge place, which quite frankly I appreciated, but there was so much to learn. I’ve never been very good at history but I really enjoy it, especially American history, so walking through the museum reading about the different stages in his life and different things that he did was really fascinating to me.

The thing that I really enjoy seeing, however are the artifacts. It absolutely amazes me to see things like the suit Lincoln was wearing when he was shot, the boot that had to be cut off of Booth so his wound could be dressed but the most incredible artifact to me in that museum was the gun that Booth actually killed Lincoln with. It was just an ordinary, little pistol but knowing what that pistol did and how it completely changed the course of history is jaw dropping. Seeing it there in that glass case makes everything seem so real. Seeing how many of the artifacts were saved and how well they were preserved blows my mind because as I was telling Ali this morning, I never would have even thought to save the boot that had to be cut off Booth’s foot or the pillow that Lincoln’s head laid on in the Peterson House but so many years later we all find it so amazing to be able to see this artifacts from such a prominent event in history.

  1. #1 by aquiteexpectedjourney on January 25, 2015 - 8:09 pm

    Great point about the artifacts Laura, I felt that way throughout the trip as well. These simple items that have had a huge impact on history and people’s lives, and the fact that somebody had the presence of mind to preserve them… It’s all very breathtaking.

  2. #2 by aulstad15 on January 25, 2015 - 9:00 pm

    Laura, I truly enjoyed visiting Ford’s Theater as well! I aso enjoyed talking to you about it afterwards, and I feel the exact same way about the artifacts. I like reading the signs and descriptions of various exhibits at museums, but seeing the actual items that were physically a part of history is just amazing. The pieces that stood out most to me at the Ford’s Theater museum were the pillow that was under Lincoln’s head as he was being treated, the gun that Booth used to shoot the president, and the toolbox that the doctor used to treat Booth’s injured leg after the assasination. I just couldn’t believe that actual things from what I had been learning about in school my entire life were right there in front of me! I was also very glad that we were able to go into the theater, because it was interesting to visualize how the events went down when we were in the place that it happened.

  3. #3 by abeck162015 on January 27, 2015 - 3:36 am

    Seeing in person what I’ve always seen on the history channel was amazing. You could feel the panic in the Peterson House across the street. The stack of books was amazing too!

Leave a Reply

