Lesson Learned

We all probably know the old adage: “Kindness goes a long way”. After this trip to NYC and DC, I can tell you that this is true.

We met with Paula Kerger, the president of PBS, Brian Lamb, the founder and former CEO of CSPAN, and Rosie Kasica, the senior producer of Nancy Grace, among many others. These people have no business meeting with 11 college kids, but the story was the same throughout; they were all extremely friendly.

No doubt that is a large reason why they have been so successful, and they confirmed that in our meetings. I have always valued kindness, but thought of the corporate world as a mean, “dog eat dog” kind of atmosphere. I am pleased to say that I was wrong.

Much to my pleasant surprise, these VIP’s shared with us their paths to success. All three had the same thing to say about the importance of kindness and charisma. To paraphrase, it seems that people are less concerned about what you have done or where you have been than they are about how you treat them and where you are going to be.

I have left this Jan term experience very confident, knowing that a positive attitude and charismatic personality can get one far in life. I am looking forward to entering the “working world” more than ever, and I can’t wait to see firsthand the power of treating others well.

  1. #1 by chunter15 on January 24, 2015 - 3:05 pm

    I would totally agree – the level of hospitality and openness that these professionals have shown to a dozen college students from the inland northwest has been pleasantly surprising and encouraging. It means, at least to me, that you can be kind and still be successful (and even be successful because of your kindness). Nice people don’t have to finish last.

  2. #2 by spridemore15 on January 25, 2015 - 8:45 pm

    Kindness does go a long way, I enjoyed our meetings with all the different individuals we had the opportunity to meet with on this trip. The advice they were willing to share with a dozen college students left an impact on me as I am sure it did for the rest of the class. I know I learned way more during this jan term trip and what I want to pursue as a career in the future.

  3. #3 by abeck162015 on January 27, 2015 - 3:29 am

    I was surprised as well! I definitely thought they were going to be intimidating and extremely serious.

Leave a Reply

