Wise advice

Today we met with Brian Lamb of C-SPAN. As he entered the conference room we were all sitting in when the meeting started, I could immediately tell that he was a seasoned businessman with a great deal of professional experience. Especially with the way he introduced himself by going around the room to each one of us and shaking our hands. This made me view him as a very respectful man. I have not watched an extensive amount of C-SPAN in my life and was not quite sure what to expect out of this meeting, but I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Mr. Lamb today. It was interesting to hear about how the organization got started and how much it has evolved over time. What I enjoyed most, however, was the incredible advice he offered us. One of his main points was not to worry about starting at a small position as long as there is a learning experience that comes out of it. I found the example of his successful colleague going door to door at the offices of congressmen to be fascinating. This also made me think about the pressure I sometimes put on myself to figure out something specific that I want to do right away, and I am beginning to realize that I have time to figure it out and I don’t have to know everything now. Another piece of advice was to know the history, background, and owner of any company we are doing interviews at. He told us that the majority of the time, an interviewed candidate will not know the answers to these questions and knowing this can help us differentiate ourselves from the rest. He also reiterated how important it is to have internships if at all possible. This meeting and the rest of our meetings have made me even more excited for my internship in the spring because I am feeling motivated and inspired to work hard, learn new things, and gain valuable experiences that I can take with me into the professional world. I am very thankful for the opportunities we have had to learn from all of the professionals we have met with, and so much of what I have gathered from this trip is incredibly valuable. This truly has been a one of a kind experience!

  1. #1 by mforchemer on January 23, 2015 - 3:40 pm

    Brian was an incredible guy and we are very lucky to have been able to meet him. I also found his advice valuable and reassuring. Being a senior and not knowing what the future holds can be nerve-wracking, but we do have time to figure things out.

  2. #2 by spridemore15 on January 24, 2015 - 3:19 am

    Ali I agree, I thought both Brian Lamb and Paula Kerger did a great job of giving valuable advice during our meetings with them. I also thought his point about doing an entry level job just to get your foot in the door was a good reminder. We are always looking at what our next step is going to be after graduation as seniors and constantly being asked about our plan by others. Brian did a good job reminding us that is okay not to have a plan and if you really have a passion, do anything you can to get your foot in the door, there is no job below you.

Leave a Reply

