Another museum to add to the list

I have never been a huge fan of museums and in New York I visited a fair amount, so the thought of visiting even more museums in DC was not all that exciting to me. Although the Newseum changed that, the six-story building full of news related history.

After riding the glass elevator up to the sixth floor I was in awe of the view the museum had for the city. While it was a cloudy and rainy morning the view was still breathtaking nonetheless. I also really enjoyed looking at the display cases filled with the front pages of newspapers from all over the world. Having been raised in Washington my entire life, I headed straight towards the section where the Washington front page would be posted thinking that it would likely be the Seattle Times and that the Seahawks would be the cover after the huge win the night before. I was surprised when I made it to the Washington section to find the Spokesman Review has the paper representing Washington.

Another exhibit that I found powerful in the museum was the 9/11 exhibit. As we sat and watched the video of reporters talking about being on the scene and taking risks to get footage and tell the public what was happening yet at the same time having to find where to draw the line in order to protect themselves from the danger zone they were currently reporting on. The passion the reporters had for their jobs and sharing the information they knew with the public was clear in the video.

The last exhibit that really stood out to me was the Pulitzer Prize photograph section. While many of the photos were heart wrenching, especially when you read the caption about background regarding the photo. The photos captured history and did a great job of making the viewer feel as if they were there. I always tend to forget about how important the job of a photo journalists is, but after spending sometime in the exhibit and hearing the individuals we got to visit with at Getty Images, I have a lot more respect for photojournalist and the job they do.

While I have visited many museums during my time on this trip, I have to say my favorite by far was the Newseum. While I don’t plan on going into the career of journalism, I have respect for the drive those who do make it a career have for news and finding the answer. A drive that became so clear during my time at the Newseum.

  1. #1 by Laura on January 23, 2015 - 4:13 am

    Sam, I agree with your thoughts on the Newseum. I have been getting a little museumed out but I genuinely enjoyed this one. I think that you’re exactly about the Pulitzer prize photographs being so much more than just pictures. It was cool to see the small ones all lined up from over the years but then walking around the room seeing the large versions and reading the descriptions made it all the more powerful.
    Like you, I also am not planning on going into journalism and quite frankly I know very little about it. I do however agree with you that this museum opened up my eyes to this world and I have a completely new appreciation for the people who are so dedicated to this job. The 9/11 exhibit I thought was really powerful and like you said, seeing how dedicated those journalists and reporters were, even when faced with life threatening danger, was astounding to me.

  2. #2 by enikssarian15 on January 27, 2015 - 6:19 pm

    The Newseum was sweet, and I was also equally surprised and proud to see the Spokesman representing the state. I have a deep respect for journalists that do it the right way, which I think the Newseum commemorated in a way to pay tribute to those journalists that captured stories and shared them with the public. There are many times in our history that journalism may have stirred controversy or created a public mistrust with stories that simply revealed the truth, and this museum I think taught me that the trade-off is worth the news story to be put out there for the public good. We cannot limit our right to free speech and freedom of press.
    The pulitzer prize photos were absolutely amazing, but also disturbing at the same time. They evoke different emotions from time periods that I may not have been alive in but could somehow relate to. Capturing a single moment could tell more than thousands of words could ever portray. This part of the museum also reminded me of the exhibition at the New York Public Library. Both were superbly executed.

Leave a Reply

