Thoughts on our first week

Our first week:

During our week in New York, we have had the privilege of meeting with professionals from a variety of media-related businesses here in the city. These businesses have included The Smoking Gun, Major League Baseball Advanced Media, WNET, Ogilvy & Mather, CNN, Random House Publishing, and Getty Images. It has been an incredible opportunity to meet with all of these companies, and I have learned a great deal of information about the media industry and the various aspects within each company. Though I have enjoyed all of the meetings we have had here in New York, there were a couple that stood out to me the most.

WNET

I found this meeting to be one of the most interesting for multiple reasons. We met with two women, one was the director of marketing and communications for WNET, and the other worked for a sister station in New Jersey. Each woman explained her role in the company, and also provided us with a wealth of advice and suggestions for us as we enter the workforce in a matter of months. Regarding the company, they explained that WNET is a compilation of independent member organizations that generally have in-house producers to plan the programming. This includes PBS programming, signature stories, and mini-series along with local programming depending on the area. I grew up watching shows on PBS Kids like Arthur and Cyber Chase, and I found it fun and interesting to learn about the process of generating that programming on television. One of the most interesting pieces of advice came from the woman from NJTV. She shared with us that she believes the two most important classes a college student can take to prepare for the real world are writing and improvisational acting. She said that at work you should always be able to think on your feet and make decisions quickly and effectively, and that these skills can be honed in an improv class. She also heavily stressed the importance of writing well and posessing strong communication skills. She believes that every job requires some sort of communication, and that being able to write well will help you succeed in the workplace.

Each woman also shared their career path and how they ended up at their current positions. They both shared that they had had internships at various companies in multiple industries before they found the company that they wanted to stay with. Hearing their stories, and the stories of many other professionals we have met with, has helped me realize that it is fine not to know exactly what I want to do as I graduate from college. In fact, I am excited about the possibilities that await me, as I am not entirely certain of which career track to jump into right away. A common piece of advice I have heard time and time again is that any experience is valuable, whether its an unpaid internship or a paid position. And this has made me thankful for the experiences I have had and hopeful for the experiences I will have in the future.

Getty Images

Our meeting with Getty Images was definitely one of my favorites, which I did not necessarily expect to be the case. I think I had heard of the company briefly before, but I was not entirely familiar with what the employees do and how successful of a company it actually is. At this meeting, we met with a variety of people with different positions at Getty. The main woman we spoke with was on the legal team for the company. She gave us a description of what getty does and told us about some of the companys most well-known photographs and the stories behind them.we also watched a video of the CEO of the company explaining the value an image has in comparison to text or other mediums. This was a very powerful video, and I will probably watch it again! I enjoyed learning about this industry because it was not something I had ever really learned about before. We learned about so many positions in the company that I never knew existed, such as Assignment Coordinators. These employees communicate between events/organizations and photographers that are contracted with Getty. They set up meetings and schedules and tell the photographers where to go and what the specific needs are. It actually sounded like an awesome job! The entire office at Getty was filled with beautiful, high-quality pictures, which I’m sure make for a positive and pleasant working environment year-round. Overall, I loved being a part of this meeting because the employees were so passionate about their company, and the way they portrayed their love for images and photography made me feel happy and excited about everything I learned that day. This trip is so great! 🙂

  1. #1 by Laura on January 16, 2015 - 6:24 am

    I completely agree with you about not knowing what career path to jump into. I’ve definitely been feeling intimidated by the thought of jumping into a career right after graduating and even though I still have another year to go it just seems like I need to have all the answers now. Hearing from so many people that we’ve met with about their career paths and the ways they got to the jobs they are at now have been incredible and it’s also been reassuring that there are so many options and it’s okay to try some out and end up not liking them and moving on.

  2. #2 by spridemore15 on January 23, 2015 - 3:28 am

    Getty Images has been one of my favorite meetings as well. I didn’t think that would be the case at the time but I loved the passion the different individuals we heard from had for their job. I also loved the fact that Getty had so many offices all around the world. It was an area I never thought about going into until this trip.

Leave a Reply

