Blurred memories and the importance of documentation

When I woke up today, I started thinking about our trip. And honestly, a lot of it has blurred together. I knew the trip would be at a fast pace, but it seems like so long ago that we went to Ketchum PR or The Amsterdam News in New York in comparison to PBS while in Washington DC. Also, the fact that we were in the Salt Lake airport for longer than expected with a delayed flight and went to bed about 3 a.m. probably hasn’t helped my memory.

I’ve usually prided myself on having a pretty good memory, but in reviewing notes and the syllabus for our trip, I realized how quick the last 20 days have gone. While editing our final video, it has been cool to see how much we have seen and experienced in the last 2o days, and helped me to remember some of what I have temporarily forgotten.

I’m glad I took the notes I did. And that we got to document a lot of what we did on video. It reminded me of the importance of documentation in the field of journalism. In the moment it seems pretty easy to take in information and remember, but once a few days go by, some of the it starts to blur together. So, for anyone going on the trip in the future, I’d say document as much as you can via notes, photos and video because the trip is at a go-go-go pace a lot of the time.

In trying to explain what I did to family and friends, I found myself having to think twice about some of what we did. Which made me think how cool places like the National Archives are in Washington DC. The media shares news in the present, but also in the process creates documentation of the past. From something small like recording notes during an interview to archiving completed articles, a lot of documentation is needed in the field of journalism. During this trip, a lot of attention was put on the way media is evolving and its future, but I also think it’s important to look back at history and see the way media has documented the past and helped the role of media get to the point it is at today.

Hopefully that point connects well to a pitch for our final video(s) which look back at what we have done on this trip. It should be done tomorrow or Wednesday at the latest. Though a little long in length, I hope you all get the chance to watch it and remember some of what we got to experience on this trip. Our intent is for it to provide some reflection and insight to what the trip meant to the students. Feel free to share it with others that might consider going on the trip next time because I think it documents the types of places we go and see, and more importantly the impact those places had on us.

I’m not really sure where this post is going now, much like our group wasn’t often sure where we were going when we got off of subways in NY or DC. Speaking of which, the “Jim-P-S” video is in the works too. With that in mind, I better get to editing that video together. That’s all for now.

  1. #1 by chrissyroach on January 29, 2013 - 7:03 am

    Everything is such a blur for me too, Andrew. I’m glad I’m not the only one. I never really made the connection to the importance of documentation for journalism, though. You made a good point, and I’m glad that we were able to document a lot of what we did on our trip for ourselves and for others who are looking forward to the trip.

  2. #2 by ltrego on January 29, 2013 - 7:03 pm

    Yes. I agree so much. People keep asking me what my favorite part of the trip was, or what lessons I learned. It’s hard to come up with succinct answers on the fly because everything is one big blur. Your connection between the notes we took at our meetings and the historical documentation that journalism provides within our society is a really interesting point. Good thinking, Andrew.

Leave a Reply

