THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

18 Days of Jan Term on the Media Impact trip and 18 meetings with big-time companies

17 Cups of coffee from Starbucks to keep me awake

16 People crammed into a tiny room to discuss the history of the Amsterdam News

15 Plus Hours of Traveling to two major cities on the East Coast

14 Different accounts where we’ve re-called a Brooklyn Nets fan with the thickest New York accent telling us that “The Knicks are Bricks”

13 Pulitzer Prize winning photos at the Newseum that gave me goosebumps and are now on Facebook

12 Hours spent at the Presidential Inauguration in the freezing cold just to say that we were a part of history

11 New friends who can share this experience with me forever

10 Girls living in one room and not ripping each other’s faces off…yet

9 Stops on the metro in the wrong direction to end up in Virginia instead of downtown

8 Floors we had to climb each morning, afternoon, and night in the DC Hostel

7 Hours, on average, to sleep and most importantly rest our feet

6 Cents we pay to keep C-SPAN and Brian Lamb on the air

5 Times I broke down and cried in the Holocaust Museum

4 Lunches at Potbelly Sandwiches which makes me wonder why they aren’t located in Spokane

3 Hour time difference to adjust to

2 Brave McPhersons willing to lead us around two cities that play a pivotal role in the United States

1 Incredible, Mind-Blowing, Educational, Exhausting, and Brilliant trip that I will never forget

Thanks to everyone for sharing this experience with me. It has been such a pleasure and something I will never forget. Image

  1. #1 by breelenee on January 27, 2013 - 2:47 am

    I love this! Make sure to jot this down somewhere in a travel journal so you will never forget this amazing trip! I’ve loved getting to know you and others on this trip. Before I had never met some of you and I enjoyed every minute (the good and the bad haha) of it! I was surprised that we all got a long so well and didn’t try to kill each other haha You definitely made me laugh a lot on this trip, if you hadn’t been there at the inauguration I probably would have cried because it was so cold. I’m glad you came!

    • #2 by hostic13 on January 27, 2013 - 2:59 am

      Aww thanks Bree! Yes it’s been a wild and crazy ride. I’m glad I got to know you and the other ten peeps along for the experience. Whenever a need a dance lesson I know where to go

  2. #3 by James McPherson on January 27, 2013 - 3:14 pm

    Very cool. I especially appreciate “10” and “2.” 🙂

  3. #4 by tpowell13 on January 27, 2013 - 4:11 pm

    This is perfect! It fits the whole trip, and your experience to a T. This was definitely a defining moment for all of us and I am so very happy that I got to experience it with you and everyone on the trip. I keep reading this and can’t stop laughing and remembering those experiences. I am so happy that we all came together and found ways to make things the way they were. I’m glad I got to know all of you better and now have so many new connections.

    • #5 by hostic13 on January 27, 2013 - 5:45 pm

      I think so too! haha it’s been a blast getting to know everyone and seeing these places. Whenever I think of DC and NY I’ll always hold a special place for media impact.

  4. #6 by aforhan14 on January 30, 2013 - 4:15 am

    I like your idea for having the countdown. It was a creative way to reflect all that went on during the trip. If future students read this post before they go on the trip, I think it will accurately show them the type of experience they are in store for.

Leave a Reply

