Find Your OWN Voice

Yesterday we visited PBS, and spoke with President Paula Kerger, an inspiration to not only women aspiring to be important in the media world, but all young people in this field of study. One thing she said that really stuck with me was along the lines of: “Be yourself… Don’t just try to be the role models you see as successful. As a journalist find your own voice.” This was very important to me, because I feel that often times, young journalists, or young people in general, myself especially, find role models and strive so relentlessly to be exactly like them. Now, I’m not saying having role models is a bad thing. But as Paula so eloquently described to us, being successful and more importantly, being happy, is about finding your own voice. It isn’t about copying those who came before you, it’s about about learning from them…two very different things. We all have professors, and prominent, successful, people who have gone before us. They have already proved their worth and talent. It is up to us as young people to strive to bring something different to the table, not to do exactly what those who have come before us have done. After meeting with Paula, I am vowing to myself to never try to just be a copycat…but to find my own voice as a journalist, to find my own niche in the media world, and to be different than all the rest.

  1. #1 by chacheenka on January 27, 2013 - 12:47 am

    This seems like the hardest task we have been given. It is so easy to slip into some one else’s shoes. We are constantly learning from other people and observing. But it is the thing that makes you stand out from the rest that makes you different. It is all a matter of finding it. However, I definitely think this will be the hardest thing to do.

  2. #2 by breelenee on January 27, 2013 - 2:56 am

    Paula Kerger was amazing! I am so glad we were given the opportunity to meet with her! What she said especially about women entering into the media world was inspirational! I think what you took away from the meeting is a very good piece of advice. One that I hope to apply to my own life as well.

  3. #3 by tpowell13 on January 27, 2013 - 4:17 pm

    I think you hit things right on the head. There were so many great things that Paula said and stuck out. Remembering how important our voice is is one thing that can never be lost. This truly is the hardest task that we have, I am so happy that we all got to meet and listen to her very important pieces of advice.

  4. #4 by aforhan14 on January 30, 2013 - 4:17 am

    Great post, I really valued the balance she gave between sharing about PBS and also giving us advice for our own careers. I like how you captured and reflected on that in this post. I think we all appreciated the sites where hosts gave us good advice for our future as journalists in addition to sharing about themselves and their companies. It is reassuring to be encourage by someone who has “made it” in the media world.

Leave a Reply

