News Consumption

Today we visited the PEW Research Center, specifically with the Project for Excellence in Journalism department.

One topic that came up in conversation was “How do people consume news?” Curious how to my friends, family and peers would comment, I left it up to Facebook to find out.

Image

 

Another topic discussed during our meeting was the pay walls news organizations have put on their websites to gain revenue. I again decided to call upon my friends, family and peers for help, but this time on Twitter. Image

Image

 

Granted my little experiment in no way compares to what the research PEJ has gathered. However, I did enjoy seeing people’s responses and what they thought on the subject as well. 

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by chrissyroach on January 26, 2013 - 4:21 am

    I’m glad you asked your friends about this, Chelsie. It’s an interesting topic and weird to think of the shift journalism has taken within the last few years. I remember when I was younger, I used to always wait for the news to come on at 5 p.m. so I could watch it with my parents. Now, I just scroll through Twitter to read the hundreds of headlines that appear within minutes. I completely understand why people wouldn’t pay for subscriptions — the news is just too easily accessible now (and free). However, I think it’s important for us to educate others on the importance of subscriptions in order to keep quality journalism running.

  2. #2 by aforhan14 on January 30, 2013 - 4:21 am

    I second Chrissy’s comment. I think it is really cool that you took something interesting from a presentation and ventured into your personal relationships to ask and learn more about media. The screenshots add a visual element that I think our blog is sometimes lacking overall. Thanks for sharing your findings. It will be interesting to see how mediums of media either expand or fade away going forward in influencing how and what we read from the media.

Leave a Reply

