Confusion

After my time on this trip I have come to realize that my life after May is completely up in the air. I now have little to no idea of where I want to go or what I want to do. Since high school I have always known what I was going to do. Major in something science, do well in school and get into dental school. Although after the last two days in DC and our time in NY, that idea and dream seems to be challenged.

When talking with Brian Lamb, CEO of C-SPAN, I was so shocked that he first off, took the time out of his busy day to speak with us, but actually seemed like he was genuinely interested in our lives. After sharing some of our stories and listening to his, I am really thinking differently. Mr. Lamb told us that he spent 3 days in law school before he decided to take a chance and do something different with his life, something that would make him the man he is today.

A few things I took away from him was to do what makes me happy, not what my mom or other family members or friends want me to do. To live each day to the fullest and make the best of each and every experience, to try to look for the best in everything, but also know that there won’t always be a silver lining in everything. He said that it is ok to be confused, to question what you really want in life. Its completely normal to be in the state of confusion and questioning that I’m currently in.

Even though I have always been the type of person that needs to know where I am going and what I’m doing in my life in advance, I think I just need to listen to Brian and my heart, and just let things happen when the time is right. Even if that means that I don’t go to dental school or don’t have the best job or things like that, I just need to in the end make myself happy and do what i love and love what I do.

  1. #1 by rebekahdaniels on January 25, 2013 - 5:33 am

    Taylor I think you are on to something. You cannot always plan out every detail of your life. Life is an unexpected roller coaster. As much as you study the layout of the track and as hard as you prepare for each tough climb and all the tight conners, you can never anticipate the thrill or rush the ride gives you. You can plan for your life to go a certain way but you have to remember you can only RIDE a roller coaster, meaning you do not get to choose the speed at which you will arrive at certain points or turns in your life. One thing you can always count on is those who are on the ride with you supporting you until the very end.

  2. #2 by knaten on January 26, 2013 - 6:26 pm

    I completely agree with Rebekah, and I can relate a lot to your post. Brian Lamb’s story about going to law school for just three days. In those three days he realized that he needed to follow his OWN dreams, not the dreams of his parents. This is something I’ve come to realize. He also talked about how his parents were supportive in his decision. I think that we, as young people, need to do what is right for us, and not worry so much about what our parents or peers may think, because I really believe if we just take that chance, in the end they do just want us to be happy and to do what is right for ourselves, and will support whatever decision we make.

Leave a Reply

