57th Presidential Inauguration

Shivering cold my classmates and I woke up before the crack of dawn and trekked our way down to Pennsylvania avenue. There we stood in line waiting for over an hour to find a place to hunker down and listen to the Inaugural ceremony and see the parade. I have to say adventures like these bring people together. No matter how confusing, stressful or miserable a situation may be, lasting memories are always being made. 

The city looked as though the end of the world was near with all of the police and army forces blocking roads and directing people where to travel.  Herds of people gathered in lines as if waiting to receive their food rations. After we made past the gates we headed down the street to find our post. Across from the Canadian Embassy we waited in anticipation for the event to start. As we waited we saw the Presidents car drive by and were able to see his face through the car window. 

After the inauguration we waited to see the parade and ended up singing songs to pass the time. I am not sure how many people we annoyed or how many people we entertained all I know is that this was a day of history that I will forever remember. For me the whole day was about experiencing history first hand and I am proud to say I was able to see the Barack Obama our 44th President be inaugurated for the second time. 

 

  1. #1 by breelenee on January 26, 2013 - 3:26 am

    I was disappointed we didn’t get to see the President very well and after waiting out in the cold for soooo long we all we’re pretty delirious at that point. I had fun singing with you all, I think the guards watching us got a kick out of it 😉 I love how this whole experience brought us all together, through the cold we endured so much haha I’m glad we went so that we could say we attended an inauguration but never again!! Next time I will watch it on TV 😉

  2. #2 by mpelham14 on January 26, 2013 - 7:05 pm

    I like how you referenced all the cops and military personnel to a end of the world feel. Staying on that subject I haven’t heard more sirens at anytime in my life while staying in D.C. The only other time I can compare to was the huge police chase in Spokane last summer; but that was still nothing in comparison.
    C-SPAN President Brian Lamb subtly mentioned to thank Osama Bin Laden for all the cops and sirens. I don’t know if we can directly pinpoint all the security to just 9/11. Yes I can safely say 90% is due to that horrific surprise attack. But there have been several other grave events in American history that should have led us to tighter security sooner.

  3. #3 by tpowell13 on January 27, 2013 - 4:27 pm

    This was definitely one of those days where it wouldn’t have been the same with out good friends who were trying to make the best out of the long day. While I agree with Brianna, I am happy we at least got to experience it all together. Reading how you saw the day was a great new perspective. I also agree with Mark and the things that Brian Lamb said, that it takes one person to ruin everything for everyone. I am glad that we all got to have a bit of fun and lighten the mood for the officers and military personel that were outside serving that day.

Leave a Reply

