Dreaming Big.

Today, we were given the opportunity to tour C-Span and then sit down with Brian Lamb. Never have I met such a humble influential man. Mr. Lamb treated us like we were on his level. He was truly interested in getting to know us and engaged with us more than any representative that we have met with thus far, which spoke volumes to me. He is the founder and CEO of a major company, yet he treated us like we were just as important as him. His nuggets of wisdom also ministered to me.

I have always been a firm believer that people should dream big. It’s been instilled in me that you should always shoot for the stars because you will go as far as your ambition leads you. The fact that Mr. Lamb told us he started C-Span clumsily, started out really small and people told him he wouldn’t succeed, reinforced my desire to dream big. I truly believe that hard work can take you places that you never imagined were attainable. I tend to get discouraged when people tell me something is impossible, but Mr. Lamb showed me that you have to prove people wrong. In forty years, I want to look back at the life that I led and realize that I shot for the stars and I went places because I never let fear stop me. Things won’t always happen the way I want them to or the way I think they will, but hard work and drive pay off. That fact is evident in the life of Brian Lamb.

He also made me realize that it’s healthy to be a little bit confused. I am a planner and I find solace in having things figured out in advance. However, the opportunities are endless in this industry. I could go into public relations, print media, digital media, etc. For the longest time, that has worried me. I know that I LOVE to write, but I thought that committing to being a writer meant not acknowledging other opportunities. However, nothing is permanent. Ideally, I would like to experience many facets of journalism in my career and that is possible. I don’t have to just be a writer or commit to doing one thing for the rest of my life. I also don’t have to know what I want to do. Mr. Lamb went to law school for three days, joined the navy, then became the founder and CEO of C-Span. I don’t know where this crazy life will take me, but I take comfort in knowing that it’ll be somewhere exciting.

  1. #1 by aforhan14 on January 29, 2013 - 3:14 am

    I agree, I really like this post. I think it’s hard to admit the dream big idea because we might sound unrealistic or unintelligent to those listening. But the people that are in those dream big positions now weren’t always there. They worked and believed and then achieved. Sometimes it scares me that we don’t think we can do something and don’t do it, and the decision is all in our head. In many cases, we probably have the skills and desire to achieve but think otherwise and defeat ourselves.

Leave a Reply

