C-Span with Brian Lamb

All of the meetings we have attended have all been informational and interesting. Each host has been welcoming however thus far one has stood out amongst the rest, Brian Lamb CEO of C-Span. I appreciated for how interested he was in developing a sense of who we are as people and seemed genuinely interested in having a personable relationship with our groups. Not only did Brian Lamb asked us all questions and entertained us with sharing his own life stories, he also left us with a few nuggets of advice. One piece of advice I will be sure to remember is “If you ask for help they will help you. If you act like you know everything they will ignore you.” For me this quote is a reminder to stay humble and be willing to admit when you need help. In my opinion there will always be someone who knows more than you, having the willingness to recognize when that is true and stepping back to learn from them is a strength we should all learn.  

  1. #1 by romodara14 on January 26, 2013 - 1:46 am

    The fact that Mr. Lamb was so willing to come to our level also spoke volumes to me. It makes you think about character and status and how you truly see someone’s character when they are in a position of power. It’s interesting how people less noble than him acted pompous. People allow success to go to their heads. Its easy to say you never will when you’re a nobody but people seldom remember their humble beginnings. I respect Brian Lamb and he taught me a lot about life in general.

  2. #2 by breelenee on January 26, 2013 - 4:03 am

    Brian Lamb was by far one of our most interesting speakers! I was surprised when he started out the meeting asking us questions, it felt less like a formal meeting and more like a discussion group we would have on campus. I also liked the fact that he was so humble when talking about his own work with C-SPAN.

  3. #3 by tpowell13 on January 27, 2013 - 4:47 pm

    I think that we all gained several valuable lessons from Mr. Lamb. I was just so shocked that he actually took time out to come and speak with us and I am very grateful he did. You’ve truly found the deeper meaning behind what he said, and I think we all needed to hear what he had to say. We all need to be reminding to be humble and to accept help when needed. I know I am one that practically refuses the help even though I know I sometimes need it. In this case, I need to listen to what Mr. Lamb has told us, to reflect on things, try to do things more for me and less for our parents and friends, to be humble and accept that we are sometimes wrong.

Leave a Reply

