Ten women. One room.

While not an educational aspect, living in close quarters with my fellow female classmates has been a huge part of this trip. Everyone knows that too many women in one area is bound to lead to drama. However, somehow the mix of quirky, quiet and inquisitive personalities has mixed together in an interesting way.

I came on this trip hoping to broaden my horizons and get to know people better than I could at school. Not only have I been able to establish deeper connections with people I knew on a surface level, I have been able to make new friends altogether.  It’s interesting how such a short trip can teach you so much about the people you are with. Most of us have had to live with complete strangers at some point during our college careers. Being in a dorm teaches you to live with and tolerate others, however, sharing one room with nine other women puts that lesson to the test. We are all unique in our own ways. We communicate differently and, at times, it’s difficult to see where other people are coming from. However, this experience has been one of growth for me.

At the end of this trip, I will remember the organizations that we visited and be honored by the opportunity. I will remember the food that I have eaten and wish I didn’t have to return to the campus cafeteria and I will remember the people that I lived with and be grateful for who they are and what they bring to the table. They have taught me some of the most important lessons. I have learned that a little bit of patience goes a long way, that you can NEVER judge a book by its cover and that friends come from the places you least expect them to.

  1. #1 by breelenee on January 21, 2013 - 3:02 am

    I agree patience goes a long way. It is interesting reading about the experiences you’ve had so far on this trip. I like seeing how friendships have progressed as a result of this trip

  2. #2 by mpelham14 on January 21, 2013 - 3:06 am

    Great last paragraph Remi, because it’s very true. You have to always be open to new things, but most of all new people. In a hostel especially, Andrew and I have had only one other roommate from Argentina when we were in New York but now in DC, our room is full of four different countries. Most likely due to Inauguration, but it just opens you up to new perspectives and lifestyles that we wouldn’t get back in Spokane.

  3. #3 by rebekahdaniels on January 23, 2013 - 1:31 am

    I have to agree with you Remi. Living with the all of you has been a highlight of my trip. In fact meeting new people has always been something that I have cherished. Being open to making new relationships is not always easy for most people and sometimes I even close myself off. However going into the trip I knew I wanted to open myself to better understanding my classmates and for the most part I have grown to know most everyone on the trip. This experience only comes once in a lifetime and is made by those you experience it with. Thank you all.

  4. #4 by shughes152013 on January 23, 2013 - 1:58 am

    This is great, Remi. I’m glad someone touched on this element of our trip. I laugh inside every time I walk into our oh-so-well-kept room, but then I remember I really wouldn’t trade it. Getting to know new people and broaden social circles is immensely healthy and what better way to do it than have a 3-week long sleepover? And the fact that I’m writing this as we’re all camped out in the lounge of the hostel right now singing to Hannah’s music is the perfect capstone to this post 🙂

  5. #5 by aforhan14 on January 29, 2013 - 2:55 am

    I agree with the other comments. I think there’s really something to being influenced by who lives around you. I think about how I’ve changed or been influenced by people at Whitworth after graduating from high school, and also what my potential future work place environment will be like after college. Getting along and/or making friends is key no matter where you are I think.

Leave a Reply

