Odd One Out

Well I realize as we are almost done with our time here in NY, I haven’t written a single post so I guess I better start now.

Looking back a year ago thinking about where I’d be and what I’d be doing for Jan Term of my Senior year I didn’t think it’d be anything like this. Exploring a foreign city with a group of great people. Not only have a learned about myself thus far on this trip, but I have really found who I can depend on if I’m ever stuck in a city I don’t know trying to navigate back home. Not only physically lost in a metaphorical city, but emotionally lost and confused about who I am and what I am trying to make of myself. Being the only person with a major far away from Communication or Journalism it is making me realize how different everyone is and what the life that others could have because of their decision to be in those majors. Trust me, not that I regret being a Chemistry major, but I realize that there are certain aspects of Comm that I would have liked to explore a little more.

I have realized that on this trip, that I am beginning to become more at ease with what I am doing with my life and how I should be spending the rest of my time at Whitworth. I need to be able to show people the best I can be and how I can be of help in many different ways. I realize that I am definitely a lucky person to be able to have what I want and be where I am. After walking around the city for a week and watching people I am realizing how thankful I am for everything that I have and everything I am able to do.

Visiting the plethora of companies that we’ve seen and learned more about, I can see how hard people in these types of businesses work and how much of an impact everyone can make when they simply work together and communicate. Communication is one of the biggest things anyone can learn about, and everyone should have the opportunity to learn more about the subject. Without communication the places we’ve visited would not be anywhere near where they are today, if there at all. I realize more and  more that in order to succeed in anything that I do that I need this key to assist me in figuring out how to navigate my way through life.

For now I am just going to enjoy my time here in NY and DC, not worry about what has to be done in the months and years ahead, just live my life how I feel it should be lived, to love what I do and who I am.

  1. #1 by knaten on January 18, 2013 - 11:51 pm

    I think it is really interesting to get the perspective of a non-comm major, and it is fun having someone with a different perspective here on the trip with us. I think a lot of times the communication degree gets a bad name for being an easy option, for people who don’t really know what they want to do. But from this trip and the places we have visited I have seen first hand, and I’m sure you will agree Taylor, that that is just not the case. I think we have all learned the amazing places something as seemingly simple as communication can take us. I’m excited to see where life takes you, and I’m glad this trip may have taken a part in shaping that, I know it’s done the same for me!

  2. #2 by shughes152013 on January 20, 2013 - 4:33 am

    I agree with Katherine. I think it’s great to have varying perspectives on our trip. Plus, you always impress whomever we’re meeting! I do really appreciate your attitude though and that even though you are finishing up your college career in a reasonably specified area, you’re still willing and open to learning about different disciplines and still looking for ways to practically apply them to your life. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

