East Coast Transportation Love

The East Coast has captured my heart through the public transportation system.

The subway system on the East Coast is nothing like any public transportation we have in the West. Subways are fast, efficient and I do not have to drive. I cannot explain in words how much I hate driving. Driving creates an unnecessary amount of stress and anxiety.

Coming to the East Coast and discovering subways was what initially sparked my love for this side of the United States. If I lived in a city with a subway system, I would sell my car and never drive again. Not only would this solve my hatred for driving, but it would also save me money in gas.

I know the subway can seem scary and intimidating, but it really isn’t. By the end of the first day we were already learning the system and finding our way around. When we didn’t know where to go, we just asked. New Yorkers are not really as mean as everyone plays them out to be. Everyone has been nice and has helped us find our way.

If there is any advice I could give thus far it would be don’t be afraid, ask questions and jump on before the door closes!

, ,

  1. #1 by tpowell13 on January 18, 2013 - 3:51 am

    Definitely was scared to death of public transportation, I can see why it is efficient, but gosh did it scare me. From the first interaction with the system to now, its gotten better, but definitely still worries me big time.

  2. #2 by romodara14 on January 20, 2013 - 4:11 am

    I think the comparison that you made to the west coast is important to note. I have always felt so safe in Arizona without the rush of crowds getting onto various forms of public transportation and have felt that city life was a little bit too overwhelming. However, our visit to the East Coast has also shown me how valuable public transportation is. The savings on gas is a huge plus, but it’s also important to note the time saving. Big cities come with heavy traffic and the subway avoids all of that. I am with you 100%. I think the subways are a wonderful gift.

Leave a Reply

