9/11 Memorial

100_3264I have never been a believer in chance; I believe that God has a purpose behind every encounter in our lives. As I made my way to the 9/11 Memorial I started to prepare myself mentally for what I was going to see. I decided that I would go to the site alone and pray for the families who had lost their loved ones. I managed to get myself turned around on the subway and asked the woman sitting nearest to me for directions. It just so happened that she was getting off at a stop that would bring me closest to the memorial. We started chatting and I told her why I was visiting the site; immediately her eyes filled with tears as she told me that she had lost her father in the attack. As we walked together she told me what it was like during 9/11 and how hard it was still to this day to walk near the site. I told her I didn’t want to make her feel sad and that I could make it there on my own but she interrupted me and graciously explained that she wanted to walk with me. I will never forget how kind she was. I asked for her name and when she could go no further I went on alone and said a prayer for her and her family. The woman I spoke with was maybe six years older than me at most, it made me sad to think that she lost her father at such a young age. The whole experience was wonderful and yet very emotional.

100_3258

  1. #1 by hostic13 on January 17, 2013 - 3:09 am

    Great story! I can’t wait to check out the memorial for myself. It sounds like there is history with almost all of the people around NY. I hope to hear some stories of locals as well. When we saw the Freedom Tower I was getting emotional, so I’ll have to brace myself for actually going inside the real memorial. It looks like you had a great experience 🙂

  2. #2 by aforhan14ose95 on January 17, 2013 - 6:13 am

    Wow, what an emotional experience and powerful moment. Who would have thought of all the people in New York you’d run into someone with such a direct connection to 9/11. Thanks for sharing that experience with us.

    I also visited the site and it was an incredible experience, to think about everything that occurred. On somewhat of a separate note Sena, Chrissy and I were talking about how the event might have been impacted/covered differently had social media had a prominent presence at that time.

  3. #3 by chrissyroach on January 18, 2013 - 3:34 am

    I’m glad you got to experience something so emotional and touching — the memorial in itself was an extremely difficult thing to see, but I’m sure that conversation with that woman made it so much more special.

  4. #4 by tpowell13 on January 18, 2013 - 3:48 am

    Hearing this from you first hand was amazing, sitting here reading it again gives me chills. I wish I could have seen that powerful moment. New Yorkers truly are great people, they’ve been through a lot and still seem to find ways to help others out.

Leave a Reply

