Keep your eyes peeled

ImageImageImageImage 

I’m not one for celebrity sightings. Though this may be the only time I’ll be in New York so I see it more as a necessary attitude adjustment for the time I’m here. I always hear the ‘take advantage’ phrase so this must be what they’re talking about. Thus far, I have seen four, that I know of. The crazy part about New York is there may have been four-hundred more that I didn’t even recognize; either from being clueless, the celebrity being incognito, or I simply just don’t know of them and their supposed celebrity status. For example, Katherine in our group was talking about buildings from scenes in the show Gossip Girl. Personally, I’ve never seen the show in my life and the only actress I know of is Blake Lively. Other than that, if one of the actors or actresses were to pass me on the street, it would go right over my head. It’s crazy to think about. I’m a huge Seinfeld fan. For those of you who’ve seen the show, I actually went to the iconic diner this morning where they display the famous restaurant sign (called Monk’s on show, it’s Tom’s in real life). Now back to celebrities. If I saw Jason Alexander walking down the street (George on show) or Michael Richards (Cosmo Kramer), I’d definitely stop to take a picture with them. On the other hand, some of you or most will just keep obliviously walking. The point I am making here is we all have our own celebrity criteria- based on what we watch or have watched, what era we grew up in (Jim and I will most likely like to meet different famous people), what we’re interested in (athletes, models, media, reality TV, and so on), and honestly our gender; hence the Gossip Girl example. Location of where we grew up doesn’t necessarily play a factor in my mind because of the television. It only plays a role when it comes to childhood heroes and role models I believe. Already on this trip, I along with others, have seen ESPN college football analyst/The Bachelor’s Jesse Palmer, The Office and The Hangover comedic actor Ed Helms, rapper Young Jeezy (famous songs Get Right and Soul Survivor with Akon), and model extraordinaire Tyra Banks. I spotted Palmer walking near the Chelsea Market, Young Jeezy and Banks at the Brooklyn Nets game, and Helms walking through the Chelsea Piers. Lesson here is for the next five days in New York and then D.C. after that, keep your eyes up; on the Subway, on the streets, in Starbucks, and in restaurants especially. Because this kind of opportunity may never come again. 

  1. #1 by James McPherson on January 14, 2013 - 1:42 pm

    “Jim and I will most likely like to meet different famous people.”

    Are you saying I’m old? 🙂 OK, you’re right–I only recognized the names of three of the four people above, and might have recognized two.

  2. #2 by mpelham14 on January 16, 2013 - 5:40 am

    Lol, not old Jim, more like a seasoned veteran? But today we also saw Jimmy Fallon from his show Late Night with Jimmy Fallon and Saturday Night Live’s Seth Meyers walked by ten feet from us!

  3. #3 by hostic13 on January 16, 2013 - 6:14 am

    This was a great post because I got to see most of these people as well. And as your above comment states, we got to see Jimmy Fallon AND Seth Meyers today. Two incredible comedians and they both seem like they are great people. We’ll have to keep our eye out for Tim Tebow with the four days we have left!

  4. #4 by romodara14 on January 23, 2013 - 1:04 am

    This reminds me of what I have been thinking about recently. I also love seeing celebrities and have been on the hunt throughout this trip. However, at the Katie Couric show (where I was so excited to be seeing a celebrity), there was a discussion about the Lance Armstrong issue and how we tend to glorify celebrities and worship winners. I thought that was an important thing to recognize. We often forget that celebrities are people too and instead of dehumanizing them, we OVERhumanize them. We hold them to the highest standards and we worship them in a sense. It’s still cool seeing celebrities, but that’s just an important idea to grapple with. They are just like us…with a bit more money of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

