City of Dreams

 

It’s interesting how one small portion of a city, such as Times Square,  can be entertaining, eye-opening and thought-provoking. One thing I wanted to do was explore the city on my own. I enjoyed being with the group, but I wanted to get lost between the tall buildings and immerse myself in the sea of New Yorkers. I took the subway downtown without many plans in mind and decided to be impulsive.

The sounds of taxis, musicians and the hustle and bustle of life were invigorating. I pushed all of my thoughts to the back of my head and allowed myself to take it all in. I didn’t count the number of blocks I walked. I didn’t pay attention to how long I was spending away. I had no agenda, I was unaware of the time and I thirsted for adventure. The highlight of my afternoon was witnessing a young couple’s wedding photos being taken in the middle of the square. That place was significant for them and they were able to creatively make it apart of their special day.

Here I was able to reflect. For some reason, being in the midst of overwhelming noise, while wedding photos were being taken, was just what I needed to do so. I was able to think about the future and realize that the city is where I feel most alive. Seeing the young couple start their lives together in the midst of honking taxis and impatient crowds was inspiring to me. I thought about having that one day. Not taking wedding photos in Times Square, but starting life in a place full of excitement and inspiration. I looked around me and was enthralled by what was at my fingertips. The sense of freedom, control and adventure was empowering.  I don’t know where I will end up, but I know that I would like to start my life in a city and that realization is exciting.

 

 

 

  1. #1 by James McPherson on January 14, 2013 - 1:44 pm

    Sounds like a nice outing–I like to get away by myself in this city, too. Be careful.

Leave a Reply

