My Top 10.

As I look at my subway map, I can now tick off all the different districts on Manhattan, plus a few others that live off this crazy island. As each day has passed we’ve also checked off things to do and see off our media list. Visit ProPublica. Check. Columbia University. Check. TV Guide and AP. Check check. Then there’s the touristy list; lines steadily cross off things like the Statue of Liberty, the UN building, Union Square, 30 Rock, see a show on Broadway, (we saw Avenue Q) and lots more. We’ve explored Manhattan but dined across the world, (Mia and I by ourselves have eaten South American, Indian, Thai, Chinese, Mexican, and American food as well as drank more weak East Coast coffee than we care to admit). It has been lovely.

As we roll pass the halfway mark and into our last day in New York, I can confidently say I am both learning and having a great time.

Of course, the lessons are as much experiential as academic; they are on the streets as well as  in the numerous conference rooms we have now had the privilege of sitting in, (for the record, Wiley’s is still the best, great chairs, view, and free food).

So in honor of the New Yorker late nighter, Mr. Letterman, I have compiled a top ten list of what we have learned so far:

10. Going to the end of a subway platform will grant you three extra inches of space. Which is necesary sometimes.

9. There is GOOD food in New York. And all it will cost is a lot of money and a reservation.

8. A liberal arts education, regardless of the major, is attractive to employers.

7. Research the personality and the current affairs of companies where you want to work. Each company, or branch of that company has a distinct flavor, and it is important to find one that matches both your goals and life. Additionally, knowing about the field and place where you are interviewing is essential to coming off well in a hiring situation.

6. Sometimes New York smells bad, and there’s not a lot you can do about it.

5. New Yorkers are giant babies when it comes to snow, ice, and cold. Come on people. Spokane dreams about having it this good.

4. The art world, whether it is books, museums, plays, or galleries, all compliment studies in communications.

3. Learning to write well is a big deal. It will get you hired.

2. Internships and experience are vital, vital, vital. Do them early and often in your college career.

1. Social media is the single largest force shaping all industries and the majority of lives in this country. Any company or person that is acting in a reactive way to its existence or power is already behind.
There it is. My top ten. Tomorrow is one more day in the Big Apple, and then onto D.C.

I cannot wait.

  1. #1 by mollyferree on January 14, 2011 - 3:01 am

    I love the top ten! Great idea, and I quite agree with #5. We have seen an amazing variety of attractions this week. It’s hard to believe that we have to start planning our explorations of D.C. next, but I think that our experiences from this week will make it easier. Also, I’m jealous that you had South American food, but I know of a supposedly great Ethiopian place in D.C., if you’d care to join me?

  2. #2 by chelseamichelle on January 17, 2011 - 1:44 am

    I like that your top ten is a good mix of practical and professional tips. All of those professional tips have been hammered into our heads at practically every place we’ve gone, and some of them surprised me. I also really appreciate you mentioning something about the snow. Someone seriously needed to bring that up and make them stop whining.

  3. #3 by Jerod Jarvis on January 18, 2011 - 3:53 am

    Number 0: Working on the student newspaper is very good and should be practiced by all.

    I did appreciate the mix of things we experienced. Even though I’m not actually all that interested in broadcast or publishing, being exposed to those industries was both interesting and eye-opening.

  4. #4 by karawhitney on January 19, 2011 - 1:44 am

    Number 0: that was only said half the time. Half the time doesn’t make it worth it. unless you write sports.

    Sarah (and Mia) I have been really impressed by how many places you’ve gone. It’s cool to watch you take total advantage of this trip and gain all these experiences. I still wish I had been along for even half your adventures.. ruling out some of the eclectic cuisine that I don’t think my stomach could have handled :o)

    But I would like to say.. number 10.. YES! It is going to be my lifeline forevermore. Here’s to seasoned front car riders!

Leave a Reply

